Penguins Strive to Maintain Level of Excellence

Women's swimming and diving began at Youngstown State in the 1975-76 season with Cindy Loehr as the sport's first head coach. For the first few years, the team steadily built up to be competitive, but the program took off in the 1982-83 season under head coach Joe Kemper.

On March 16, 1983, at the Division II National Championship, six Penguins combined to score over 50 team points and earn 14th place. Janet Kemper earned All-America status in five events, setting school records in all five. She won the 50-yard fly while setting a national record with a time of 26.24 seconds that still stands. She also finished second in the 100 fly, third in the 50 free, third in the 100 free and was part of the 200 medley relay that placed 10th. Cathy Sipka, Peggy DeVall and Becky MacFadyen also earned All-America honors as part of the 200 medley relay.

YSU had its highest finish ever at the 1984 National Championship as it scored 81 points to place 11th. Kemper again had a standout meet, placing third in the 50 free in a school-record time of 23.94, second in the 100 free and third in the 100 fly. Her time of 57.96 in the preliminary heat of the 100 fly set a meet record. The Penguins also fared well in the relays as Cathy Sipka, MacFadyen, Carol Sipka and Kemper finished fourth in the 800 free relay and fifth in the 400 free relay. Lori Greenlee, Cathy Sipka, MacFadyen and Kemper finished 12th in the 200 medley relay while Greenlee, Carol Sipka, MacFadyen and Kemper teamed up to place 14th in the 400 medley relay.

Kemper had another good showing in the 1985 national competition as she placed third in the 100 fly in a school-record time of 57.43, fourth in the 100 free and sixth in the 50 free to pace the team to a 20th-place finish with 58 points.

The Penguins accumulated a school-best 85.5 points in 1986 to place 15th in the nation. Kemper closed out her career finishing third in the 50 free, fourth in the 100 free and ninth in the 100 fly. She also teamed up with the Sipka sisters and MacFadyen to place seventh in the 400 free relay and eighth in the 800 free relay.

The program was discontinued after the 1986-87 season until 1996 when Kristie Stacey took over as the sixth head coach in school history.

Brandi Goettsch began her run of helping turn coach Nick Gavolas' diving program into a regional power by sweeping both diving events and being named Diver of the Year at the Mid-Continent Conference Championships. She also won the conference title in the 1-meter in the 1999-2000 series and was named Diver of the Year for winning the 3-meter in 2000-01. Kalyn Leveto was then named Horizon League Diver of the Meet twice and earned four Horizon League individual titles from 2002 to 2005.

Matt Anderson is the longest tenured coach in YSU history. Anderson took over the program in 2003 and has been at the reigns for five seasons. The previous high of any Penguin coach had been four years.

In 2004, Erin Carter became the first-ever swimmer to win a Horizon League championship. Carter won the 400 IM at the Horizon League Championships.

The Beeghly Natatorium holds its own bit of history as it was the venue for the 1977, 1980 and 1981 Men's Division II Swimming and Diving Championships.

Three members of the program have been inducted into the YSU Athletics Hall of Fame -- Janet Kemper in 1995, Becky MacFadyen in 2006 and Cathy Sipka in 2009.

Conference Champions 1-Meter Diving Brandi Goettsch 406.00 (Mid-Con) Brandi Goettsch______374.90 (Mid-Con) 2000 2003 ___Kalyn Leveto ______ 243.00 (Horizon) 2005 ___Kalyn Leveto___ 284.00 (Horizon) 3-Meter Diving 1999 Brandi Goettsch 464.20 (Mid-Con) 2001 Brandi Goettsch 492.20 (Mid-Con) 2002 Brandi Goettsch 458.05 (Horizon) 2003 Kalyn Leveto 416.40 (Horizon) 2004 ___Kalyn Leveto____ 449.20 (Horizon) **Horizon League Diver of the Meet** 2002 • Brandi Goettsch 2003 • Kalvn Leveto 2004 • Kalyn Leveto 400 IM • Horizon League 2004 Erin Carter 4:33.82 **NCAA Division II Team Finishes** 1983 • 14th 1984 • 11th 1985 • 20th 1986 • 15th NCAA Division II National Champion 1983 | 50-Yard Butterfly

Janet Kemper___

26.24



Carol Sipka, Becky MacFadyen, Janet Kemper, Cathy Sipka and Lori Greenlee helped turn YSU into a Division II national power in the mid 1980s.

All-Time Head Coaches

7 III TIIIIO TIOUU GOUGIIOO		
Coach	Years	Total
Cindy Loehr	1975-76	1
Tucker DiEdwardo	1976-78	2
Gretchen Julian	1978-81	3
Joe Kemper	1981-84	3
Tammy Swearingen	1984-87	3
Kristie Stacey	1996-98	2
Nick Gavolas	1998-99	1
Jackie Bak	1999-03	4
Matt Anderson	2003-Present	6

YSU Hall of Fame Inductees

Janet Kemper • 1995 | Becky MacFadyen • 2006 Cathy Sipka • 2009

YSU Student-Athletes of the Year

Brandi Goettsch • 2001-02 | Kalyn Leveto • 2004-05 Olivia Arnold • 2008-09

YSU TOP FIVE HORIZON LEAGUE FINISHES

2010

4th - Casey Hill | One-Meter Dive

4th - Casey Hill | Three-Meter Dive

5th - Nishani Cicilson | 50 Freestyle

5th - Sam Roberts| 200 Breaststroke

2009

3rd - Olivia Arnold | 1,650 Freestyle

4th – Ashley Williamson | 100 Butterfly

5th - Olivia Arnold | 1,000 Freestyle

5th - Megan Rupe | 100 Freestyle

2008

2nd – Ashley Williamson | 100 Butterfly

4th – Ashley Williamson | 200 Backstroke

5th - Ashley Williamson | 100 Backstroke

2005

1st - Kalyn Leveto | 1-meter dive

4th - Kalyn Leveto | 3-meter dive

4th - Erin Carter | 400 IM

5th - Erin Carter | 200 Butterfly

2004

1st – Erin Carter | 400 IM

1st – Kalyn Leveto | 3-meter dive

2nd – Kalyn Leveto | 1-meter dive

5th - Erin Carter | 200 IM

2003

1st – Kalyn Leveto | 1-meter dive

2nd - Kalyn Leveto | 3-meter dive

2nd - Mandie Smail | 1-meter dive

2002

1st – Brandi Goettsch – 3-meter dive

2nd - Brandi Goettsch - 1-meter dive

3rd – Mandie Smail – 1-meter dive

3rd – Mandie Smail – 3-meter dive

4th - Kalyn Leveto - 3-meter dive